7 July 2011

To: The Board of the Society for the Study of Social Problems

From: The Lee Founders Award Committee, Stephen Pfohl, Chair

Re: Report of the 2011 Lee Founders Award Committee

Three individuals were nominated for the 2011 Lee Founders Award: Barbara Todish, Sally Ramage, and Claire M. Renzetti. Barbara Todish and Sally Ramage's were on-line self-nominations; Claire M. Renzetti was nominated in detailed letters submitted by three SSSP members. Although the Committee found merit in the accomplishments of all nominees, it was the unanimous decision of the committee to bestow the 2011 Lee Founders Award on Claire M. Renzetti.

Since it is often difficult to motivate SSSP members to nominate individuals for this and other awards, the 2010 Lee Founders Award Committee recommended that this year's committee consider developing strategies for motivating members to nominate worthy colleagues. Unfortunately, our committee was not made aware of this recommendation until after we had completed our business. As such, we recommend that the 2012 Lee Founders Committee revisit this issue when undertaking its work next year.

Respectfully submitted,

Stephen Pfohl, Chair, On behalf of Committee Members: Shari Dworkin, John Alessio, Magaly Brodeur, Ashley Doane, Yvonne Luna, and James Ptacek.