## Report from the Arlene Daniel Kaplan Paper Award Committee, July 2024

Date: July 5, 2024

## Participating Committee Members:

Simona Grabriela Gavrila Rachel M. Schmitz Emily Schneider Chair, Aida Villanueva

Aida Villanueva took over as chair of the Arlene Daniel Kaplan Paper Award Committee in April 2024 after Dr. Andrea S. Boyles had to step down due to unforeseeable circumstances.

## 2024 Awardee:

This year's awardees are Srijana Karki, Texas A & M University Corpus Christi, and Tamara L. Mix, Oklahoma State University, for their article "Navigating the patriarchal bargain: Compliance with and negotiation of menstrual customs in Kathmandu, Nepal." This article has been published in the journal *Women's Studies International Forum*, 99 (July-August 2023).

Moreover, our committee agreed on an honorable mention to Nazanin Shahrokni, from Simon Fraser University, for her article "Depleted Households: Domesticating Economic Sanctions," published in the *Humanity Journal*, vol 14 (2), Summer 2023.

## **Decision Process:**

The Committee received a total of 21 articles, which we divided into two groups. Each participant reviewed and ranked their top three papers from their assigned group. In the second stage, all members read the top choices of each other evaluator, leading to a consensus on two preferred articles. In the final stage, we voted for the 2024 awardee, and the article by Dr. Karki and Dr. Mix was selected as the winner by a vote of three to one. We also agreed on recognizing Dr. Shahrokni's article with an honorable mention. No member reported any conflict of interest pertinent to this evaluation.