Erwin O. Smigel Award Committee Report

July 2, 2024

Four SSSP members applied to the **Erwin O. Smigel Award fund**. The committee members deemed that all qualified for the award. Each was awarded \$375. Subsequently, one applicant withdrew. The committee proposed that the \$1500 fund should be split evenly among the three remaining applicants.

Action Item

The committee would like the language below added to the Operations Manual. This language is similar to the other travel award committees.

If.a.qualified.applicant.notifies.the.Administrative.Officer.that.he?she.or.they.are.unable.to.attend. the.annual.meeting.before.award.checks.are.processed?their.award.money.will.be.redistributed.to. the.remaining.qualified.applicants?up.to.the.maximum.amount.allowable;

Committee Members (2023-2024) Krista Brumley, Chair Wayne State University

R.A. Dello Buono, Chair-Elect Manhattan College

Bhoomi K. ThakoreUniversity of Connecticut