SSSP: 2024 Committee Report

The Joseph B. Gittler Award Committee consisting of the following members:

Rodney D. Coates, Chair (2023-2024)

Miami University of Ohio coatesrd@miamioh.edu

Felicia Arriaga (2023-2024)

Baruch College, CUNY felicia.arriaga@baruch.cuny.edu

Jennifer Roebuck Bulanda (2023-2024)

Miami University bulandjr@miamioh.edu

Robert J. Durán (2023-2024)

Texas A&M University rjduran@tamu.edu

Simona Gabriela Gavrila (2023-2024)

Stanford University sgavrila@stanford.edu

Sanjay Tewari (2023-2024)

Indian Sociological Society sanjay.tewari@yahoo.co.in

met virtually to consider the following:

According to the guidelines, all nominees must have been an active SSSP member for at least three years prior to receiving the award.

- **Dr. David G. Embrick:** joined 9/13/01; 2024 sustaining member
- **Dr. Emily Schneider:** joined 7/18/14; 2024 sustaining member
- Mam Chand: is not a member
- Amb Splendour Joe King: is not a member
- Splendour Joe King: is not a member (same person)

Upon careful consideration of the two eligible candidates, the committee voted (3 in favor, and 2 abstaining) to award David G. Embrick the 2024 Joseph Gittler Award.

Rodney D. Coates Committee Chair