REPORT TO THE SSSP BOARD OF DIRECTORS WOODY DOANE, CHAIR, LEE FOUNDERS AWARD COMMITTEE JUNE 30, 2024

2023-2024 LEE FOUNDERS AWARD COMMITTEE MEMBERS: Woody Doane, University of Hartford (Chair); Anna Maria Santiago, Michigan State University (Chair-Elect); Kathleen Asbury, Community College of Philadelphia; Shannon Carter, University of Central Florida; David Embrick, University of Connecticut; Anthony Jack, Boston University; Emily Schneider, Northern Arizona University.

Following the April 15, 2024 submission deadline, the Committee received two complete nominations—Naomi Nichols (Trent University) and Johnny Williams (Trinity College). After consultation with the Committee Chair, David Embrick recused himself from further participation given that he had written the lead nomination letter for one of the candidates.

After the remaining Committee members completed their consideration of the nomination materials, a vote was conducted in which each of the finalists received three votes. Following consultation with the SSSP Administrative Office, the Committee <u>unanimously</u> voted to declare the two finalists as corecipients of the 2023-2024 Lee Founders Award as both were deemed to be highly deserving of this recognition.

The SSSP Lee Founders Award Committee would like to congratulate both Dr. Nichols and Dr. Williams for their outstanding accomplishments and for their sustained work for the advancement of social justice in the humanist tradition of Alfred McClung Lee and Elizabeth Briant Lee. They truly represent the best that sociology has to offer.

The SSSP Lee Founders Award Committee would also like to thank the SSSP Administrative Office for their work in publicizing the call for nominations, vetting nominees, and providing invaluable support to the committee.