SSSP IE division business meeting notes

Time: Friday Aug. 9 from 12:30 - 2:10 Eastern

Hybrid meeting location: Zoom and Salon 1 at SSSP Conference, Montreal, CA

Attendees: Katie Koralesky, Suzanne Vaughan, Sophie Pomerleau, Kate Hardin, Gina Petonito, Naomi Nichols, Colin Hastings, Mitchell McLarnon, Jayne Malenfant, Eric Mykhalovskiy, Laura Parson, Paul Luken, Helen Hudson, Liz Brule, Emily Schubert, Anna Rockhill, Viviane Namaste, Cristina Ariza, Catherine Clement, Morena Tartari, Frank Ridzi, Kate Melino, Emily Schubert, Fredricka Saunders, Hans Peter de Ruiter, Lynn Kuechle, Martin French

(n= 27)

Agenda

1. Welcome, introduction to hybrid format and meeting guidelines

2. New division chair needed!

- Katie Koralesky's term ends 2025, so we need to have someone join her to transition into the chair role.
- Needs to be ideally someone with a good research budget who can attend meetings,
- Naomi Nichols mentioned she may have some ideas.
- Explore a co-chair model? For example, Lauren Eastwood is going to the division meetings this year, Naomi Nichols and Colin Hastings are helping to lead meetings as Katie Koralesky could not come to the conference.
- Eric Mykhalovskiy and Paul Luken mentioned that part of being the new chair can involve get more information about future of SSSP.
- In summary no new chair has been named; work in progress. We will follow SSSP protocols to elect a new division chair in 2025.

3. Workshop and awards committees for conference 2025: Chicago

- <u>Workshop committee</u>
 - Laura Parson, Anna Rockwell, Hans Peter. These individuals will also be attending the workshop this year in Montreal, and so can gather ideas from the current workshop committee.
- <u>Student Paper Competition</u>
 - Criteria: Graduate student publishing an original piece of work. Criteria will be posted on the SSSP IE division website: <u>https://www.sssp1.org/index.cfm/pageid/1713/</u>
 - o Committee members: Helen Hudson, Naomi Nichols, Liz Brule

- Dorothy E. Smith Scholar Activism Award committee
 - Sometimes given to people in the geographic region where the conference is taking place. Criteria will be posted on the SSSP IE division website: <u>https://www.sssp1.org/index.cfm/pageid/1713/</u>
 - Committee members: Vivienne Namaste (and possibly someone else will be added)
- Institutional Ethnography Leadership award
 - This is a new award initiated by Eric Mykhalovskiy this year. Suzanne Vaughan and Paul Luken won the award in 2024.
 - Next year, Paul Luken and Suzanne Vaughan will join Eric Mykhalovskiy on this committee.

4. Other updates:

- One of the attendees asked about how we disseminate knowledge about IE.
- IE journal update Laura Parson will be sending out some surveys, please fill them out.
- University of Toronto book series. Please see Eric Mykhalovskiy if you are interested or have a book proposal.
- JEQR special issue on IE see Emily Schubert if you would like to submit something.

5. Organization of the 2025 conference: Paper panels, roundtables, and critical dialogues

• Theme and location: Insurgent Sociology in a Time of Crises. Aug 8-10. Chicago. "As we commemorate our 75th anniversary as a Society, I center Insurgent Sociology as a deep pillar of our history and current practice. Indeed, we must draw from the best of our praxis given the transformational work that the period demands. Our founding principles are to be renewed and made anew as we contend with ethical, scholarly and emancipatory practices in our teaching, analyses, and engagement. We face multiple crises in these times: global capitalism, war, militarism, climate crisis, assault on critical studies and more. In counter hegemony, lifting up solidarity with communities in struggle, visioning, and worldmaking are critical. As we face challenges and possibilities in the 75th year of SSSP, our insurgent history, theory, research and practice are foundational to the program focus and the road ahead. Indeed, I look forward to a robust 2025 Conference in Chicago."

Keep an eye out for spring newsletter where we will post the sessions and call for papers.

6. Meeting closure

7. Awards ceremony