2024 APPROVED RESOLUTIONS THE SOCIETY FOR THE STUDY OF SOCIAL PROBLEMS

Compiled by Anthony Peguero, SSSP Vice-President

1. "Expression of Gratitude"

Submitted by: SSSP Administrative Office

2. "Thanking Outgoing Social Problems Co-Editors Annulla Linders, Earl Wright II, and Derrick Brooms and the Social Problems Community of Scholars" Submitted by: Marlese Durr, Chair, Editorial and Publications Committee

RESOLUTION 1: Expression of Gratitude

Submitted by: SSSP Administrative Office

We would like to extend our sincere appreciation to the officers, committee chairs, staff, and members who helped make this program possible and whose efforts maintain the vitality of the Society for the Study of Social Problems (SSSP).

A special thank you to President Mary Bernstein for her exceptional leadership in developing the 74th Annual Meeting and its theme, *Toward a Sociology of Violence*.

The Society thanks this year's Program Committee Chair, Claire Renzetti, and program committee members Ligaya Lindio McGovern, Raja Staggers-Hakim, and Dolores Trevizo for putting together such an outstanding program. Our gratitude is extended to the Local Arrangements Committee Chair, Anick Desrosiers, and her committee, Helen Hudson, Amanda Keller, and Véronic Lapalme. We also thank the staff of the Le Centre Sheraton Montréal Hotel for our fine accommodations, and we particularly recognize the efforts made by Joyce Coll, Senior Meetings & Events Manager and Amy O'Keefe, Senior Sales Executive.

The Society wishes to express its gratitude to Past President Shirley A. Jackson for her years of leadership; Vice-President Anthony A. Peguero for managing the resolutions process; Glenn Muschert for his service as Secretary; and Heather E. Dillaway for her service as Treasurer.

The diligent efforts of the Board of Directors, along with the prudent oversight of Treasurer Heather E. Dillaway, Investment Advisor Susan M. Carlson, and the Budget, Finance, and Audit Committee, have been instrumental in ensuring the continued viability and fiscal health of our organization.

We are extremely pleased to announce that the Board of Directors has selected Drs. Andrew Fullerton, Michael Long, Rachel Schmitz, and Kelley Sittner of Oklahoma State University as the 2024-2027 Editors of *Social Problems*. We are excited to have them as our new editors as they take on this critical responsibility for the SSSP. The new

2024 Approved Resolutions

team shows a strong collective vision for the journal and a commitment to diverse methodologies. As we welcome them, we want to thank our current editors, Drs. Annulla Linders, Earl Wright II, and Derrick R. Brooms and the *Social Problems* editorial staff for their strong leadership and dedication.

In addition to selecting our new editors, the Board also voted to extend our contract with Oxford University Press for an additional five-year term, valid through December 31, 2029. This is an exciting time for the Society and *Social Problems*, and as always, we are open to your ideas for ways to improve our superb journal.

The Society also thanks Rose M. Brewer, President-Elect; David J. Luke, Vice-President-Elect; Board of Directors: Meghna Bhat, Kristen M. Budd (outgoing), Ebonie L. Cunningham Stringer (outgoing), David G. Embrick (outgoing), Jackie Krasas, Barbara Katz Rothman, Cameron T. Whitley; Student Representatives of the Board Shiv Issar (outgoing) and Foroogh Mohammadi; Giovanna Follo (outgoing), Chairperson, Council of the Divisions, Shannon K. Carter, Chairperson-Elect, Council of the Divisions; Annulla Linders (outgoing), Earl Wright II (outgoing), and Derrick R. Brooms (outgoing), Co-Editors of Social Problems; Nancy Mezey (outgoing), Budget, Finance, and Audit Committee Chair and committee members Susan M. Carlson (Investment Advisor), Sarah E. Castillo, Heather E. Dillaway (Treasurer), and Anna Maria Santiago; Marlese Durr, Editorial and Publications Committee Chair and committee members Alexis A. Bender, Yvonne A. Braun (outgoing), Derrick R. Brooms (outgoing), Kristen M. Budd (outgoing), Luis Alberto Fernandez, Annulla Linders (outgoing), Nancy Mezey (outgoing), Claire Renzetti (outgoing), Linda M. Waldron, and Earl Wright II (outgoing); and Chair of the Department of Sociology and SSSP Project Director Stephanie Bohon, the University of Tennessee and the Department of Sociology for their continued support to host the SSSP Administrative Office.

A special thanks to our sponsors for their financial contributions to program activities: the Department of Sociology at the University of Connecticut, Bristol University Press | Home of Policy Press, the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation, and the Oxford University Press.

The Society wishes to thank Executive Officer Elroi J. Windsor, Administrative Officer & Meeting Manager Michele Smith Koontz, Assistant to the Administrative Officer Kelsey Whitaker, Information Technology Specialist Rachel Cogburn, Graduate Research Associate & Webmaster Helen Elaine Wilds and the leaders of the 23 Divisions for their work on behalf of the SSSP and its members.

RESOLUTION 2: Thanking Outgoing *Social Problems* Co-Editors Annulla Linders, Earl Wright II, and Derrick Brooms and the *Social Problems* Community of Scholars

Submitted by: Marlese Durr, Chair, Editorial and Publications Committee

WHEREAS during the past six years, Annulla Linders (2018-2024), Earl Wright II (2018-2024), and Derrick Brooms (2021-2024) have served as Co-Editors of *Social Problems*, the official journal of the Society for the Study of Social Problems; and

WHEREAS Annulla Linders, Earl Wright II, and Derrick Brooms and the Editorial Office Team of Molly Broscoe (Managing Editor), Shaontá Allen (Managing Editor), Kyle Shupe (Managing Editor), Jeremy Brenner-Levoy (Assistant Editor), Annie McGhee (Assistant Editor), Marcus Brooks (Assistant Editor), Kierra Toney (Assistant Editor), and Anthony Jerome Stone, Jr. (Assistant Editor) at the University of Cincinnati have served *Social Problems* and the Society with integrity, professionalism and passion; and

WHEREAS Associate Editors Littisha A. Bates (2019-2024), Joyce Bell (2018-2021), Japonica Brown-Saracino (2021-2024), Shantel Gabrieal Buggs (2021-2024), Tomeka Davis (2021-2024), Meredith Huey Dye (2021-2024), John M. Easton (2021-2024), Marcus Anthony Hunter (2018-2021), Ramiro Martinez (2018-2021), Kalasia Ojeh (2021-2024), LaShawnDa Pittman (2018-2024), Fernando Rivera (2018-2021), Mangala Subramaniam (2018-2021), and Jeffrey Timberlake (2018-2024) have provided substantive and methodological expertise and commitment to scholarly excellence; and

WHEREAS 71 Advisory Board members have provided expertise to *Social Problems* in their substantive and methodological areas of specialization during this editorship; and

WHEREAS under the leadership of Annulla Linders, Earl Wright II, and Derrick Brooms, the Social Media Committee led by Mi'Chael Wright has expanded the outreach of *Social Problems*, increased the visibility of the journal's authors and the recognition given to scholarship in the pursuit of social justice; and

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Society for the Study of Social Problems, meeting in convention in Montréal, Canada, praises and thanks Annulla Linders, Earl Wright II, and Derrick Brooms, the Editorial Team for *Social Problems*, and the Community of Scholars who have supported the work of the journal.